Arts | Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools

Arts

Literary and Visual Art

Yearbook is an after school club for all students.  Students take pictures, edit, write stories, and create pages for the school yearbook, which is distributed at the end of the school year. Meetings are on Mondays from 3:30 - 4:15 pm.  Students must fill out an application and yearbook staff members are selected from the applications. 

Advisors: Ashley Kamphenkel - akamphenkel@bhmschools.org, Dustine Jerde - djerde@bhmschools.org

Yearbook begins in October and runs through mid-February.  

Music/Performing Arts

6th Grade Singers is open to any 6th grader who is interested in having an engaging choral experience. It meets every Monday after school from 3:30 - 4:45 pm. The choir performs complex two-part music of all genres (pop, broadway, foreign, folk, and more.) This ensemble works on developing singing skills, improvisational skills, stage presence, and collaboration with others. The 6th Grade Singers perform in two concerts during the year. 

Advisor: Erin Gaffaney - egaffaney@bhmschools.org

6th Grade Singers start in the middle of October and runs all year.

Guy Group is open to any 7th or 8th grade boy who is interested in having an engaging singing experience. It meets every Tuesday and Friday morning from 8:25 am (or when the buses get to the school) to 8:45 am and during certain WIN times that will be scheduled throughout the year. This group performs music of all genres (pop, broadway, foreign, folk, and more.) This ensemble works on developing singing skills, stage presence, and collaboration with others. Guy Group will perform in two concerts this year. 

Advisor: Nancy Jo Aldrich - naldrich@bhmschools.org

Guy Group begins on Friday September 23 and rehearses throughout the the entire year. Hope to see you there!

Chamber Choir is an after school choir for girls in grades 7 and 8. It meets every Tuesday after school from 3:30 - 4:30 pm. This choir is auditioned, which means that you must sign up for a tryout/audition.

Advisor: Erin Gaffaney - egaffaney@bhmschools.org

Chamber Choir auditions start in the middle of September and runs all year. 

Chamber Orchestra is an after school orchestra for students in grades 7 and 8. It meets every Monday after school from 3:30 - 4:30 pm. The orchestra is an auditioned group, which means that you must sign up to try out/audition.

Advisor: Madeline Eicher - meicher@bhmschools.org

Chamber orchestra auditions take place in September and the group runs from October through the end of the school year.

Jazz Band is a combined group of 7th and 8th graders. All regular rehearsals are on Wednesdays from 3:30 - 4:30 pm. By combining the grades, the younger students and those that are first timers adjust to this very different type of ensemble.  There will be a three week trial after which students are asked to commit to the first series of rehearsals.

Advisors: Terri Svec - tsvec@bhmschools.org, Brian Veith - bveith@bhmschools.org

Jazz Band begins the middle of October and runs through March.

Theatre club is an after school group that meets Tuesdays and Thursdays, 3:30- 5 pm. The club is designed to be a non-audition experience for those who want to broaden their theatre experiences through improv, script work, and creating. Students get to try many different avenues of the theatre experience.

Advisor: TBD

Theatre Club starts in February and runs through March.

Graduates
Why
Choose BHM?
Middle School Cello Player
Watch
BHM Videos
Teacher and middle school students
Apply to
Work at BHM