BHS Graduates a National Merit Scholar

Aaron Hamann is a National Merit Scholar
Thursday Jun 19, 14
Aaron Hamann Earns Highest Honor

The National Merit Scholarship Program has named 2014 Buffalo High School graduate Aaron Hamann a National Merit Scholar. He will receive a National Merit University of Minnesota (Minneapolis) Scholarship in the amount of $4,000 over four years ($1,000 each year). He plans to major in materials science or engineering. Hamann is the son of William and Ann Hamann of Hanover.

Hamann is not only a National Merit Scholar, but he also scored a perfect score of 36 on his ACT Test. Less than one percent who take the ACT Test achieve a perfect score. He also was a member of the Knowledge Bowl Team that won the 2014 state championship, and he placed 9th in Financial Math and Analysis at the national Business Professionals of America (BPA) competition in Indianapolis, Indiana in April. Also at BPA Nationals, Hamann became MOUS Certified for his knowledge and skill in manipulating Microsoft Excel. He is the first BHS student to earn that certification.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQ) and by meeting published program entry/participation requirements.

Of the 1.5 million entrants, some 50,000 with the highest PSAT/NMSQT Selection Index scores (critical reading + mathematics + writing skills scores) qualify for recognition in the National Merit Scholarship Program. In September, these high scorers are notified through their schools that they have qualified as either a Commended Student (about 34,000) or Semifinalist (about 16,000). In February, some 15,000 semifinalists are notified that they have advanced to a Finalist standing. Only 8,000 Finalists are selected to receive a Merit Scholarship award. Scholarship awards are given from either the National Merit Scholarship, Corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards or College-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards.