

FINANCE AWARD WINNERS FOR 2010

Academia Cesar Chavez Charter School Alexandria Public School District Atwater Cosmos Grove Citv **Barnum Public School District Beacon Academy Beacon Preparatory School Benson Public School District Big Lake Public School District Birch Grove Community School Breckenridge Public School District Bright Water Elementary Buffalo Public School District Byron Public School District** Cedar Mountain School District Chisholm Public School District **Cook County Public Schools** Crosby-Ironton Public School District Crosslake Community Charter School Cyber Village Academy Dakota Area Community Charter School Deer River Public School District E.C.H.O. Charter School Eagle Ridge Academy Charter School Eagle Valley Public School District Elk River Public School District **Emily Charter School** Esko Public School District **Excell Academy Charter** Four Directions Charter Schools Frazee-Vergas Public School District Grand Rapids Public School District Great River School Hastings Public School District Hinckley-Finlayson School District Hmong Academy Hopkins Public School District Hutchinson Public School District Intermediate School District 917 Jordan Public School District Kaleidoscope Charter School Kenyon-Wanamingo School District Kimball Public School District Kingsland Public School District La Crescent Montessori Academy Lafayette Public Charter School Lakes International Language Academy LeSueur-Henderson School District

Little Falls Public School District

Mankato Public School District Marshall Public School District Medford Public School District Menahga Public School District Michael Frome Academy Minneapolis Academy Charter School Minnesota Online High School Minnesota Transitions Charter School Minnetonka Public School District Moose Lake Public School District Mora Public School District New Century Charter School New Discoveries Montessori Academy New Millennium Academy Charter School **New Spirit Schools** North Shore Community School Northern Lights Community School Northwest Passage High School Nova Classical Academy Orono Public School District **Osseo Public School District** Owatonna Public School District **PACT Charter School** Paideia Academy Charter School Paladin Academy Partnership Academy, Inc. Pine River-Backus School District **Pipestone Area School District** Plainview-Elgin-Millville Community School Princeton Public School District Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools Region 9-South Central Service Cooperative **Richard Allen Math & Science** Academy **Richfield Public School District Riverbend Academy Rochester Math & Science** Academv Rochester Off-Campus Charter High Rochester Public School District **Rockford Public School District** Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan School District Rush City Public School District Saint Anthony-New Brighton Schools

Saint Croix Preparatory Academy

Saint Francis Public School District Saint Paul Conservatory for **Performing Artists** Schoolcraft Learning Community Charter Sebeka Public School District Seven Hills Classical Academy Sobriety High Sojourner Truth Academy South Koochiching School District South Saint Paul Public School District South Washington County School District Southland Public School District Southside Family Charter School Spring Grove School District Stewartville Public School District Stonebridge Community School Stride Academy Charter School Studio Academy Charter School Swan River Montessori Charter School Tarek Ibn Ziyad Academy Team Academy TrekNorth High School Urban Academy Charter School Virginia Public School District Waconia Public School District Waseca Public School District Waterville-Elysian-Morristown ISD 2143 West Central Area West Metro Education Program White Bear Lake School District Willmar Public School District Windom Public School District Win-E-Mac School District Winona Area Public School District World Learner Charter School Yinghua Academy

68 of 340 or 20% of traditional districts

55 of 158 or 35% of charters

3 of 63 or 5% of other units

In FY2010 125 awards up from 118 in FY2009

The MDE School Finance Award

The School Finance Award was created and monitored by several people in the Program Finance Division at the Minnesota Department of Education. The intent of the award was to continue to highlight the importance of compliance with the law as well as provide a method to motivate reporting units to strive to greater levels of compliance, sound accounting and training. It was simply a way to recognize good work and "post the model."

There were 170 units that earned the award in one or more years since its inception in FY 2003. Mankato earned the award every year for eight straight years. There were 11 winners or 2% of all the reporting units that first year. Each year the award was clarified and got more rigorous. More criteria were added or tightened in each of the past several years. The bar continued to rise. Yet, the award winners for FY 2010 increased over the prior years.

There were a total of 126 winners or 22.45% of the 561 reporting units for FY 2010. There were 19 new entries to the winners list this year. Of the 126 winners this year, 55 of 158 units or 35% were charter schools, 68 of 340 units or 20% were traditional school districts, and 3 of 63 units were regional or intermediate units.

The list of winners is also punctuated by districts or schools that were in Statutory Operating Debt in past years. There were 19 units that removed the condition of SOD and went on to earn the coveted School Finance Award. They as well as the others received the specially designed certificate and a signed letter of congratulations from the commissioner.

The names of all the winning units are posted to the web each year and given recognition at several events including those hosted by the Minnesota School Boards Association, the Minnesota Association of School Administrators, the Minnesota Association of Charter Schools and the Minnesota Association of Business Officials.

Well done all!!

January 21, 2010 cas,mde