STEM Enrollment Through NWSISD

Tatanka Elementary STEM School is a Northwest Suburban Integration School District (NWSISD) magnet school.  Tatanka STEM students receive an education with lessons that integrate Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics concepts.  Through these lesson experiences students collaborate, communicate, critically think, and use creativity to develop a deeper understanding of STEM concepts and the world around them.

Magnet schools are public schools of choice, offering comprehensive, high-quality, thematic curriculum intended to attract students from a wide range of racial, cultural and socio-economic backgrounds. Students who live outside a magnet school’s attendance zone can apply for an opportunity to enroll in the magnet school or program.  Entrance into Tatanka Elementary STEM School and other NWSISD magnet schools and programs is application based and open to all students who live within the seven member district boundaries.  

NWSISD is a collaborative of seven area school districts in the northwest metro providing schools and communities with a variety of programs and services to promote racial equity and cultural awareness.  The seven member districts of NWSISD include Anoka-Hennepin School District, Brooklyn Center Schools, Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools, Elk River Area School District, Fridley Public Schools, Osseo Area Schools, and Rockford Area Schools.


Priority application registration is open mid-October through end of December with lotteries taking place beginning of January.  To learn more about NWSISD, its application timeline and to apply via online application, please visit